Google Is Cancelling The “hide Full Url” Feature On Chrome

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

In today’s network environment, believes that URLs still is the main way users determine the identity and authenticity of a site. However, the URLs can easily confuse people especially those that do not know about URLs. 

An attacker can easily manipulate the URL in many different ways to confuse users with the identity of the website. By manipulating the URL, the attacker can easily achieve phishing, social engineering, and online fraud. A study showed that more than 60% of people are deceived when misleading brand names appear in URLs. To avoid such problems, chose decided to hide the full URL in the address bar of the Chrome browser many years ago.

However, a recent committee from eliminated the “hide URL” feature from the Chrome browser. According to Google, this feature did not live up to expectations and had no effect on the safety of the users. 

Initially, believed that this feature is as important as HTTPS. Although it has been a controversial feature, Google still insists on promoting it. In subsequent version updates, the hide URL function has been optimized a lot, but it has been offline for some time. Now, it is not coming back.

In September last year, Chrome officially launched the “tab group” function. This feature can group tabs customize their names and colours.

In the latest version, the Chrome Canary, brought history records to tab groups. The Chrome browser recorded previously opened tab groups with names and colors and restored them with only one click. The browser will also allow saving entire tag groups as a bookmark. 

Share with friends:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.